About Judith Beveridge

Judith Beveridge was born in London, England, in 1956 and migrated to Sydney, Australia, in 1960. She attended schools in the western suburbs of Sydney and received a Bachelor of Arts degree from The University of Technology. She has worked in offices, libraries, schools, as a bush regenerator and most recently teaching poetry at post graduate level at the University of Sydney. She has been writing poetry since the age of 17 and has published six collections and two chapbooks and has edited a number of anthologies including Best Australian Poetry, 2006, (UQP). She has won many prizes for her poetry including the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal for excellence in literature and the Christopher Brennan Award for a lifetime achievement in poetry. She has been poetry editor of Meanjin since 2005 and from 2001-2004 was a member of the Literature Board of the Australia Council. Her work has been widely translated and anthologised and studied in schools and universities. She has attended literary festivals in Australia and overseas. She has mentored many poets through the ASA and NSW Writers Centre and has given poetry workshops across Australia. Her poetry reviews have appeared in major journals. She has one son and is married to the poet Stephen Edgar.

Of her work, Michael Brennan from Poetry International has said, “Central to Judith Beveridge’s poetry is an ongoing, modest but profound spiritual quest that steps beyond the fracture lines of national or cultural boundaries and moves toward a rich humanist vision of community and commonality. Vested in a Buddhist sense of detachment and compassion, Beveridge’s poetry is attuned to the daily circumstances of being, the minutiae of existence, uncovering ritual rather than simply habit, revealing meaning and fullness in each passing moment…Beveridge is one of Australia’s most gifted poets of both the natural and the human world, often allowing the interconnection between these two realms to shine forth in moments of both praise and deep consciousness. She is both a spiritual (though not religious) poet and a poet of conscience.”

Awards and prizes won

1988—NSW Premier’s Prize for Poetry (Kenneth Slessor Prize) for The Domesticity of Giraffes.

1988—Victorian Premier’s Prize for Poetry (CJ Dennis Prize) for The Domesticity of Giraffes.

1988—Mary Gilmore Prize for The Domesticity of Giraffes.

1996—Wesley Michel Wright Prize for Accidental Grace.

2003—Josephine Ulrick National Poetry Prize for a selection of poems from Wolf Notes.

2004—Queensland Premier’s Prize for Poetry (Judith Wright Calanthe Prize) for Wolf Notes.

2004—Victorian Premier’s Prize for Poetry (C J Dennis Prize) for Wolf Notes.

2005—Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal for excellence in literature.

2009—Grace Leven Prize for Poetry for Storm and Honey.

2013—Christopher Brennan Award for lifetime achievement in poetry, awarded by the Fellowship of Australian Writers.